Top 10 Tips for Submitting!

Everything about publishing!!! [Public]

Moderator: Dianedi

Dianedi
Cherry Garcia
Gallery: 491

Top 10 Tips for Submitting!

Post by Dianedi »

I've been submitting for quite a few years now and I just figured things out as I went along. I thought I would put this information on a separate post for those of you that have questions on submitting.

Here are some suggestions as provided by Scrapstreet magazine:

We love seeing all of your submissions and would like to offer a couple of tips to help you get noticed both here and in your other publication tries.

1.  Send one submission per email with the title of the call in the subject line.  The projects are usually sent to different editors writing the specific columns.  If you include all of your projects in one email, the "sorter" either has to send them to everyone or just toss it in the "too much trouble" delete file. 

2.  Make sure you include your name in the body of the email as well as the title of the work.  An editor does not want to request "jpgphoto64.jpg" from you.  Make it easy on him or her.

3.  Send your pages in at a size around 500px by 500px unless otherwise requested.  Subs that are either too large or too small cannot be properly judged.

4.  Choose your pages wisely.  Although sub and sub again definitely can work, you really do not want to send the same page in to the same place each and every month.  Pick your spots and space out your emails a bit.  No "sorter" wants to look at 20 emails in a row of your work, even if you are spectacular.

5.  Always be polite.  It is always nice to see a line that says "thanks for looking at my work."

A few of my own additional suggestions!

6. Be sure to put a small paragraph in the email explaining any techniques used on your page or anything interesting. Why did you create the page? why does your page stand out? You don't need to write a book - just a few lines.